Skip to main content
ExclusiveOdishaTrending News

The List Of Monuments And Tourist Sites in Odisha, which is going to Reopen From July 6

By July 4, 2020No Comments


 The List Of Monuments And Tourist Sites in Odisha,which is going to Reopen From July 6

Bhubaneswar: The Archaeological Survey of India, Ministry of Culture has decided to open non-living Centrally Protected Monuments and Sites, and Museums under the jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India, Bhubaneswar circle, from July 6 for the public, strictly adhering to the duly approved Standard Operating Procedure and abiding by the protocol.

Among them, only those which come under non-containment zone will be opened. The monuments in Puri district viz. Atharanalla Bridge in Puri town and SunTemple, Konark cannot be opened due to restrictions imposed by District Administration, Puri.

Visitors will have to compulsorily follow all social safety and hygiene norms. They shall park vehicles in designated areas and they shall pay for parking and in cafeterias only through e-payment.

Here’s the list of Non-Living Monuments/Sites and Museums under ASI, Bhubaneswar Circle to be opened from July 6, 2020:

Bhubaneswar Sub-Circle

  1. Churanga Garh Fort locally known as Sarangarh–Dadhapatana (Churangarh)–Cuttack & Khordha
  2. Asoka Rock Inscription–Pandya (Jaugada)–Ganjam
  3. Paramaguru Temple together with adjacent area–Bhubaneswar–Khordha
  4. Papnasini Tank together with adjacent area–Bhubaneswar–Khordha
  5. Sahasralinga Tank–Bhubaneswar–Khordha
  6. Rock inscription of the edicts of Asoka and the sculpture of elephant–Dhauli (Bhubaneswar)–Khordha
  7. Small rock-cut cell with a niche and an inscription of Santikara, a Bhauma King–Dhauli (Bhubaneswar)– Khordha
  8. All ancient caves, structures and other monuments or remains that are situated on the Udayagiri and the Khandagiri hills–Jagamara (Bhubaneswar)–Khordha
  9. Ancient remains inside and outside the rampart, mostly buried–Sisupalgarh (Bhuabneswar)-Khordha
  10. Raja-Rani Temple–Bhubaneswar–Khordha.

Cuttack Sub-Circle

  1. Ruined Fortress Chaudwar (Agrahat, Bandalas, Chattisa, Govindjew Patna)–Cuttack
  2. Ruins of the Buddhist temples and images–Bandareswar (Lalitagiri)–Cuttack
  3. The ancient monuments of Barabati Fortress and the ruins and remains of all ancient edifices, walls, gateways, etc., save and excepting the Mosque–Barabati (Cuttack)–Cuttack
  4. Ruins of Buddhist temples and images–Nalitgiri (Lalitgiri)–Cuttack
  5. Four colossal images named- (i) Varahi, (ii) Chamunda, (iii) Indrani and (iv) Kalijuga in the compound of the Sub- Divisional Officer’s Quarters–Sub-Collector’s residential complex (Jajpur Town)–Jajpur
  6. Three Buddhist Images Sub-Collector’s residential complex (Jajpur Town)–Jajpur
  7. Old hill containing many valuable sculptures and images Ratnagiri–Jajpur
  8. Udayagiri Hill, Old hill containing many valuable sculptures, images and inscriptions, etc. of Buddhist age which require protection. On the top, there is a Math and a small temple of Mahakal–Chandia (Udayagiri)–Jajpur
  9. Ancient Buddhist Site, Langudi Hill–Langudi Hill–Jajpur
  10. The Mahratta Bridge known as Attharanulla (eighteen arches bridge) and also as Tentulimal Bridge–Siriapur (Jajpur Town)–Jajpur
  11. The Monolith (a massive stone pillar). Also called Chandeswar pillar–Siriapur (Jajpur -Town)–Jajpur
  12. Paintings on the rock locally known as Ravana Chhaya and other ancient monuments and remains–Sitabhinji (Danguapasi)–Keonjhar
  13. Prehistoric Sites –Baidyapur–Mayurbhanj
  14. Prehistoric Sites –Kuchai–Mayurbhanj
  15. Prehistoric Sites –Kuliana–Mayurbhanj
  16. Ruins of Ancient Fort–Haripur–Mayurbhanj
  17. Vikramkhol Rock Inscriptions-Vikramkhol–Jharsuguda

 Dhenkanal Sub-Circle

  1. Rock-cut Vishnu Rasol (Bhimakand at NTPC)–Anugul
  2. Chausathi Yogini Temple together with Three MinorShrines and adjacent land Jharial   Balangir
  3. Ananta Sayi Vishnu–Saranga–Dhenkanal
  4. Ancient site of Asurgarh Fort–Asurgarh–Kalahandi


Archaeological Museums under ASI, Bhubaneswar Circle

  1. Archaeological Museum, Ratnagiri, Dist- Jajpur, Odisha.
  2. Archaeological Museum, Lalitagiri, Dist- Cuttack, Odisha.

Leave a Reply

20 − eight =