Skip to main content
IndiaOdishaTrending News

People who all can avail exemption at a toll plaza.-NHAI

By February 3, 2020No Comments


People who all can avail exemption at a toll plaza.-NHAI

Bhubaneswar: In light of recent events of State Labour Minister Susanta Singh being stopped at a toll plaza in Sundargarh, it is important as a citizen of India to know who all can avail exemption at a toll plaza.Now before going to the rules, a little background on the incident seems important. Minister Sushant Singh’s vehicle was reportedly detained and his driver assaulted at Masnikani toll gate of Biju Expressway under Bhasma police limits. The minister was on his way to Sundargarh in the intervening night of Saturday and Sunday to attend a function of the Government College. The Tollgate staff allegedly refused to pass the vehicle until the required payment is made. An altercation ensued which was broken off after intervention of the district police.As per the regulations laid down by the National Highways Fee, 2008, any vehicle transporting or accompanying a Member of Legislative Assembly will be exempted to pay the fee if he or she produces his or her identity card issued by concerned Legislature of the State.Following are the people who are exempted:
The President of India
The Vice-President of India
The Prime Minister of India
The Governor of any State
The Chief Justice of India
The Speaker of the House of People
The Cabinet of the Minister of the Union
The Chief Minister of a State
The Judge of the Supreme Court
The Minister of the State of the Union
The Lieutenant Governor of a Union Territory
The Chief of Staff holding the rank of full General or equivalent rank
The Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State
The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of a State
The Chief Justice of a High Court
The Judge of a High Court
The Member of Parliament
The Army Commander of Vice-Chief of Army Staff and equivalent in other services
The Chief Secretary to a State Government within concerned State
The Secretary to the Government of India
The Secretary, Council of States
The Secretary, House of People
The Foreign dignitary on State visit
The Member of legislative Assembly of a State and the Member of Legislative Council of a State within their respective State, if he or she produces his or her identity card issued by the concerned Legislature of the State
The awardee of Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra and Shaurya Chakra, if such awardee produces his or her photo identity card duly authenticated by the appropriate or competent authority for such award
Apart from these dignitaries, following vehicles which are being used for official purposes are exempted:
Ministry of Defense including those which are eligible for exemption under the provisions of the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901 and rules made there, as extended to Navy also
The Central and State armed forces in uniform including Paramilitary forces and police
An Executive Magistrate
The fire-fighting Department or organization
National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) or any other Government organization using such vehicle for inspection, survey, construction or operation of national highways and maintenance
Ambulance, funeral van or a vehicle specifically designed for use of a person suffering from physical disability are also exempted from paying any fee at toll plazas across the country.

Leave a Reply

nineteen − 17 =